She Wears the Pants

As confident as I am, there is something about dressing like you “wear the pants” that does it for me.Sept 070I’ll tell you what I mean inside.

Don’t get me wrong, I love wearing dresses! It has taken me a while to get to the current level of girly fashion and style I have now, and dressing vintage has definitely brought that out in me. I have always loved to stand out, especially with my dress. Wearing trousers, especially a high waist pant with pockets gives me the feeling of taking more control of my environment. I’m not sure what it is, but I just love androgyny and the power it brings women.

Sept 072

I still feel very elegant and feminine in this look, partly due to having a vintage hairstyle in. A swoop bang and  pin curled hair in the back with a (hidden) salmon hair baret.

I am wearing a pair of tortoise sunnies I found labelled “vintage” brand, ironic? Clay bead necklace from Cote D’Ivoire, and a leather band from Bolivia with inscribed with an R. A Pepe Jeans cowboy button up in salmon was found at a clothing swap. The pants were a great wool find at Black Market downtown for $10. Everything at that shop is $10 and vintage! The belt was found at a clothing swap.

Sept 077From where I stand, you can see the details more clearly. The colours in the plaid of these pants are so subtle but perfect for the fall season that is upon us. Oranges, blues, greens and greys. I love them! They have such an equestrian feel, especially with the pleats near the top. I stole a pair of my brothers socks that pair the same orange and greys, and finally, a pair of Sperry‘s topsliders I got for $40 back in my shoe-store days.

Does any look give you an extra ounce of confidence? I’d love to hear about it in the comments.

-Ritzz Aria xx

8 thoughts on “She Wears the Pants

Leave a Reply

