St. Lawrence Market

Work has been kind to me lately, and I’ve been having Sunday’s off more often. I love when this happens! I get to go downtown to a church I truly enjoy going to, with a great community and service. Then I get to explore a thing or two, or have lunch with friends afterwards.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis particular week, I ventured over to St Lawrence Market where on Sundays the food market is shut down and vintage vendors take over.

Many vendors were outside in the court, they flooded into the inside space and continued along the road on the other side.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I stole these pictures from my mum’s camera. (excuse the date stamp!) I was too busy shopping around to take any pics!

???????????????????????????????

This booth had Nigerian Pagne (Ankara as more widely known). I love African Wax Prints. I can’t wait to showcase more of my Ivorian Pagne outfits on the blog.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hair accessories and pearls, my favouirte!

You can some what see my outfit here, a satin floral circle skirt from Banana Republic. A friend had given it to me, and being too big, I tightened the waist. The top is an 80’s A La mode button up tank top with weaving around the shoulders. A zara cardigan from a clotihng swap sealed with an ebay find of a sweater clip.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My mum and uncle loved this booth. They laughed about how all the things here…they used as kids! If only they kept them, they would have made a fortune!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course my favourite would have to include pin ups. These Bettie Page paintings done on cement stone, and those cute little pin ups posing!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finally inside, This is one of 3 booths that had any sorts of clothing. I am dying for a vintage fur stole to wear with dresses and jackets but these were out of my price range.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not so vintage pearl opera lenses! They had my Greek sorority name (Aria) Engraved in them and I just wanted these beauties so much more!

All in all, I was really disappointed with the booths at the fair. There was a lot of over priced jewellery and accessories. Very VERY little clothing, none of which I would even say was vintage. I was lucky to scramble away with a vintage lucite handle wicker purse that needs to be restored a bit, as well as an earring and necklace set and another set of earrings.

I probably won’t be venturing out to the St Lawrence Antique market again, until I know more clothing booths will be present!

IMG_1304
After shopping, I went out for a friends birthday lunch near by with the church group. We went to the Beer Bistro where every meal has a recommended drink along side it.

To many more Sundays off and trips downtown
-Ritzz Aria xx

2 thoughts on “St. Lawrence Market

  1. Pingback: One Year! | Putting on the Ritzz

Leave a comment